Beautiful Bergen || Norway 2018

hello lovelies

I’m back with the next instalment of my Norway series this time focusing on my time spent in Bergen last year! I was so impressed by Bergen and what the city had to offer!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Before arriving in Bergen we had to start the trek from Oslo. We took a seven-hour picturesque train journey from Oslo to Bergen. When I first heard that the journey was seven hours a part of me cried a little inside. I have no problems with travelling by train but being stuck on the same one for seven hours didn’t particularly seem like it would be a highlight of the trip. However, I couldn’t have been more wrong.

Whilst on this train, we saw some of the best views and managed to get some amazing photos. The train offered lots of amazing food as you are guaranteed to need at least one meal whilst on board. Elliott and Georgia both ate two meals and I ate one which was delicious. The fact they had gluten-free and dairy-free options on board was amazing.

IMG_3303.jpg
Arriving at in Bergan.

When we arrived in Bergen we needed to find our Air BnB! This was my favourite accommodation of the trip by far. It is honestly the kind of flat I would love to live in one day (see the air bnb we stayed at here). It has so much character as well as being quirky. I would definitely recommend staying here if you visit Bergan!

 

IMG_3433.jpg
Of course, Elliott and I held a mini photoshoot with the little Christmas tree in our apartment.

Bergen was definitely my favourite city on this trip. I adored all the Christmassy lights and the Christmas markets! Filled with cute cobbled streets I adored walking around this city. A quiet and relaxed city which was a big contrast to Oslo the night before.

IMG_3304.jpg

IMG_3324.jpg

IMG_3469.jpg
Unfortunately, my camera wasn’t the best at capturing how magical this really was!

Having Bergen Julemarked on our doorstep meant we could watch the fairground operate from our living room window. Of course, we went along and took a look round. The market was filled with lots of locally handmade items. The artwork at some of the stall was amazing and there was huge temptation when it came to sweet treats. I would definitely recommend visiting this market if you find yourself in Bergan at Christmas (which I would highly recommend).

IMG_3310.jpg

We even took a ride up on the Funicular (a pretty scary experience) to see the Advent Candles which are lit at the top of Mount Floyen. From here we could see the entire city lit up for the night. There is a lovely restaurant at the top-selling a range of Norweigan delicacies. This was definitely worth the kr 95 and I urge you to do it when visiting. Remember to wrap up warm though you will be standing at the top of a snowcapped mountain.

IMG_3335.jpg
The amazing views of Bergan from the Advent Candles.
IMG_3373.jpg
Visiting the Advent Candles.

Whilst in Bergan we also visited a Gingerbread exhibition. Now if anything screams Christmas to me it’s gingerbread. Within the exhibition, we saw an entire city made from gingerbread. With intricate designs and moving parts, it was amazing to see all the hard work that had been put in. No photos that I took did this place justice. It was a reasonable price to enter and they offered a student discount which of course I took the offer of. This is a must-visit for anyone visiting Bergan over the Christmas period and is extremely child-friendly too.

Image result for bergen gingerbread town 2018
The Gingerbread Exhibition (Photo by VisitBergan)

Most of our time in Bergen was spent on foot exploring the city but we did take the opportunity to set sail on a Fjord tour which offered beautiful views of the landscapes this amazing city has to offer.

If you don’t get seasick I would definitely recommend the Fjord tour. Elliott was in his element looking at all the glaciers and had a lot of fun attempting to teach me (I do think i’m starting to understand it). There was nothing but amazing views throughout the trip. Whether you wanted to sit in the warm comfort of the interior boat and admire the views or brave the ice-cold air by standing at the back of the boat or on the roof.

It was extremely windy outside so again make sure you’re wearing lots of layers!

IMG_3404.jpg

IMG_3419.jpg

IMG_3417.jpg

I absolutely loved my time spent in Bergan! Definitely up there for me in terms of cities I could quite happily live in (if it wasn’t quite so cold).

I hope you all have had a wonderful Christmas one year on here in 2019! Let me know in the comments if you have ever been on a wintery/Christmassy holiday and if so where you visited!

The third and final instalment of the Norway series will come to a close next week where I share my time spent experiencing Tromo. It’s going to be a good one so keep an eye out for it on New Years Day!

Follow me on Bloglovin’  to easily see whenever I post! Also, are we friends yet on Instagram? It’ll be lovely to see some of you over there @jessicabensonn_


Leave a comment